Province 1 Chief Minister Sherdhan Rai expanded Cabinet today by inducting four new ministers. Of the four newly-inducted ministers, two are ministers while two others are state ministers.

Province Governor Somnath Adhikari Pyashi administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly-inducted ministers. In the oath-taking ceremony held at the office of Governor Pyashi, various dignitaries, including Speaker Pradip Kumar Bhandari, Chief Province Attorney Chudamani Acharya, Province Planning Commission Subodhraj Pyakurel were present.

State Minister of Physical Infrastructure Ambirbabu Gurung and State Minister of Agriculture Ram Bahadur Rana took the oath as full ministers. Tanka Aanbuhang, who quit the CPN-Maoist Centre a few days ago and joined the CPN-UML, has been given the portfolio of the minister of Financial Affairs and Planning.

Similarly, Ushakala Rai, Kala Ghale and Raj Kumar Ojha have been assigned the portfolios of state ministers of Social Development, Agriculture and Industry, Tourism and Forest and Environment respectively.

Earlier, CM Rai had sacked Indra Bahadur Aangbo from the post of Minister of Financial Affairs for registering the no-trust motion against him. Likewise, Minister of Social Development Jivan Ghimire, State Minister of Jayamaya Gajmer and State Minister of Industry, Tourism, Forest and Environment Bijay Kumar Biswas had put in their papers.

A version of this article appears in the print on March 27, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.