Province 2 Assembly Members take oath in four languages

JANAKPUR: Provincial assembly members of Province 2 took the oath of office and secrecy on Sunday in four different languages including Maithili, Bhojpuri, Nepali and Hindi.

Out of 107 members, 47 took oath in Maithili, 25 in Bhojpuri, 24 in Nepali and 11 in Hindi, in the ceremony held at Janakpur Chamber of Commerce and Industry Hall.

Governor Ratneshwor Lal Kayastha had administrated the oath to an eldest member of the assembly Lagan Lal Chaudhary, 75, followed by others.

The provincial members from CPN-UML and Nepali Congress took the oath in Nepali language while others took in Maithili, Bhojpuri and Hindi. Rastriya Janata Party Nepal’s Ram Naresh Yadav claimed that he took oath in Hindi. “Despite facing pressure to take the oath in Nepali, I took in Hindi,” said Yadav.

Talking to the journalists after the oath ceremony, RJP’s Dimple Jha said that the formation of provincial assembly was just a first step to establish the rights for madhesi people adding the ultimate goal is constitution amendment.