Pun, Yadav in fray for Vice President

Kathmandu, October 29

After the election of new President, the Legislature Parliament is all set to begin the election process for the post of Vice-President on Friday.

According to Sudarshan Kuinkel, deputy spokesperson for the Legislature-Parliament Secretariat, political parties can file candidacies for the post of Vice President from 10:00 am to 1:00 pm.

As per the election schedule, the Secretariat will publish the name of the candidates at 1:30 pm. Candidates willing to withdraw their candidacies can do so by 2:30 pm. The final list of candidates contesting for the post of Vice President would be published at 3:00 pm.

The voting for the post of Vice-President would be held from 11:00 am to 2:00 pm Saturday.

Kuinkel said the vote count would begin from 2:30 pm on Saturday and the result would be announced at the meeting of the Legislature-Parliament at 5:00 pm.

Unified CPN-M has already announced candidacy of standing committee member Nanda Bahadur Pun after consultations with the ruling coalition partners, while the main opposition party Nepali Congress has also decided to field Amiya Kumar Yadav for the post.