Rastriya Prajatantra Party (United) mired in intra-party conflict

Jhapa, September 7

Conflict has surfaced in Rastriya Prajatantra Party (United) in Jhapa district. The party was formed following the merger of Pashupati Shumsher Rana-led Rastriya Prajatantra Party (Democratic) and Prakash Chandra Lohani- led Rastriya Prajatantra Party (Nationalist).

The conflict came to the fore after dissidents formed a separate working committee recently.

Some leaders dissatisfied with selection process for heading the unified party in Jhapa formed a parallel working committee led by Laxmi Prasad Odari on Agusut 31.

Earlier, the party, after unification had formed a district working committee by electing Om Prakash Mishra as its district chairperson. Formation of the district committee led by Mishra was declared at a meeting held to formally announce the merger of the  two parties on August 6.

Jhapa District Working Committee has recommended action against around half-a-dozen cadres involved in forming the parallel committee.

According to Nir Bahadur Karki, Jhapa district secretary of RPP (United), former state minister of labour Tek Narayan Rajbanshi and former regional administrators Prajapati Koirala, Chetnath Thapa and Bijaya Dahal have been recommended for action to the centre for forming the ‘illegal’ committee.