Counting in four local levels of Bajhang halted

Dhangadhi, May 14

As many as four local levels in Bajhang have decided not to start counting of votes.

Jayaprithvi Municipality, Chhabishpathibhara Rural Municipality, Surma Rural Municipality and Kedarsyun Rural Municipality have shown disapproval over the elections and postponed counting. There will be a repolling in these local levels.

In Chhabishpathibhara RM-6, CPN-UML demanded repolling saying that its candidate was hit and polling was conducted, manipulated in singular manner.

Similarly, in Jayaprithvi Municipality-7, members of Maoist Centre apparently tried to take hold of the ballot box which led to a clash and hence the polling was suspended, Chief of Election Commission, Bishnu Prasad Awasthi, said.

Another fight broke out in Kedarsyun RM-4 after a relative of a candidate was accused of giving a forged vote.

Meanwhile, CPN-UML and Nepali Congress members clashed with each other in Surma RM-2 and 3 causing disruption in polling and hence, counting will only begin after repolling, Vice-chair of the RM and CPN-UML candidate Mata Bohara shared.