Show cause notice to four CIAA commissioners on eligibility

KATHMANDU: The Supreme Court of Nepal on Sunday issued a show cause notice to four commissioners of the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA) on a writ petition filed against them over their eligibility for their appointment in the antigraft constitutional body.

Advocate Daksha Bahadur Kshetri had filed the petition against Deep Kumar Basnyat, now the acting chief of the antigraft constitution body, and three other commissioners -- Savitree Thapa Gurung, Ganesh Raj Joshi and Navin Kumar Ghimire.

In the show cause notice, a single bench of Chief Justice Sushila Karki told the defendants to respond within 15 days.

The petitioner claimed that they did not fulfill the constitutional qualifications stated in Article 119 (5) of the Interim Constitution of Nepal, under which they were appointed as commissioners.

The President, the Constitutional Council, the Office of the Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers and the Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee are also made defendants in the case.


SC moved against 4 CIAA commissioners’ appointment