Singapore has blocked entry to all those who have recently traveled to Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, beginning May 2, due to increasing COVID-19 cases in these countries, its health ministry said on Friday.

According to the notice issued today by the health ministry of Singapore, all people with recent travel history to these four countries within 14 days of their departure to Singapore are currently required to serve a 14-day Stay Home Notice (SHN) at dedicated SHN facilities.

Owing to the recent increase in infections in these countries, Singapore has opted to tighten its immigration measures.

It has notified that all long-term pass holders and short-term visitors with recent travel history, which also counts transit, to Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka within the last 14 days will not be allowed entry into Singapore, or transit through Singapore from 1 May 2021, 2359 hours, until further notice.

As per the notice, entry will also be barred to those that had obtained prior approval for entry into Singapore.

Similarly, it has further increased quarantine period by seven days to all travelers with recent travel history to Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka who have yet to complete their 14-day SHN by 2 May 2021, 23:59 pm.

They will need to complete an additional 7-day SHN at dedicated facilities and will have to get COVID-19 Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) tests on-arrival, on Day 14 of their SHN, and another test before the end of their 21-day SHN period.

It had previously barred entry to people from India owing to the rising number of infections in India.