Six parties submit corrected list of winning PR candidates

Kathmandu, January 4

The Election Commission today said that all the six parties, including the Nepali Congress, had submitted the corrected list of winning provincial PR candidates.

The poll panel had asked the parties to submit the corrected provincial PR list by today.

The EC said it would check the corrected list and publish names of winning candidates in the Nepal Gazette and submit it to the province chief of the respective province.

The government however, has not yet appointed province chiefs.

According to an NC leader, the party replaced Tek Chandra Biswas with Kalpana Kumari Sardar and Sita Devi Poudel with Shanta Poudel in Province 1, Salma Khatun was replaced by Shova Lama in Province 2 and Suryamati Upadhyay wasreplaced by Shanti Devi Sonar in Province 5.

Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal leader Ram Sahay Yadav said his party replaced Raj Kumari Yadav by Radha Thapa and included Sunita Mochi in the Dalit quota. He said Bindu Yadav and Shiva Singh were replaced by Ragini Barnawal.

The lists of Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal, Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Rastriya Janamorcha and Sanghiya Loktantrik Rastriya Manch were also found to be incorrect. The EC said these parties had violated serial order of candidates in the list submitted prior to polls.

EC officials said some parties, which only won one seat, had recommended the name of male candidate. These parties would have to send a woman if they had won only one provincial PR seat.