​​​​​​As many as six writ petitions have been registered at Supreme court against ordinance to amend Political Parties Act on Thursday.

Advocates Arjun Kumar Aryal, Sakuntala Bhusal, Nikesh Kumar Lamsal, Anup Aryal, Pravesh KC, Shrikant Baral, Dal Bahadur Dhami, Saroj Budhathoki and Ashish Shrestha have filed separate writ petitions at the Apex court today.

According to Supreme Court spokesperson Baburam Dahal, six writ petitions have been filed in the Court against the ordinance on political parties. The hearing is scheduled for coming September 25.

The writ petition seeks an interim order to overturn the government's decision as it is unconstitutional to bring the ordinance the day after the government ends session of the federal parliament.

As soon as the ordinance came into force, the CPN (UML) Madhav Nepal Group and Janata Samajwadi Party led by Mahanta Thakur have already applied to the Election Commission for registration of a new party.