Three major parties recommend election candidates in Morang

Biratnagar, October 10

Three major parties—Nepali Congress, CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist Centre— have recommended candidates to contest in the upcoming provincial and parliamentary elections slated for December 7 in Morang.  However, fringe parties are yet to name their candidates.

Big parties had to face a tough time to recommend candidates as there were many aspirant candidates in each party. Parties could not settle on the names of high profile leaders unanimously due to large number of aspirant candidates.

NC Morang chapter has recommended Dig Bahadur Limbu from constituency 1 while Sujata Koirala, Minendra Rijal and Kashi Ram Sah have been proposed for parliamentary elections from constituency 2. Sunil Sharma, Man Bahadur Limbu and Bhausi Devi Khabas have been recommended from constituency 3 whereas Mahesh Acharya, Minendra Rijal and Dilip Gachhadar have been recommended from constituency 4. Similarly, Amrit Aryal has been proposed from constituency 5 while from constituency 6, Shekhar Koirala, Dila Sangraula, Ramesh Jung Raymajhi and Ashok Koirala have been proposed in Morang.

CPN-UML Morang chapter has proposed Chandi Prasad Rai and Chandra Bahadur Gurung unanimously in the district. Shiba Maya Tumbahamphe and Ghana Shyam Khatiwada have been proposed from constituency 1 while Rishikesh Pokharel has been recommended from constituency 2.

Parliament member Chandi Prasad Rai, Chandra Bahadur Gurung, Bhanubhakta Dhakal and Madhu Gurung have been recommended from constituency 3. Similarly, UML has recommended Mahesh Regmi and Jagat Thapa from constituency 4 whereas Mina Devi Yadav and Baleshwor Kamat have been proposed from constituency 5.

Likewise, Lal Babu Pandit, Yashoda Adhikari and Ram Lal Sah have been recommended from constituency 6 of the district.

CPN-Maoist Centre Morang chapter has proposed Kushal Limbu from constituency 1, Ganesh Upreti from 2, Sabitri Kumar Kafle from 3, Bijay Bishwash Tharu from 4, Shiva Kumar Mandal from 5 and Aman Lal Modi from constituency 6 of the district.

Fringe parties, however, are still busy in their internal homework. Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal is yet to finalise names to be recommended. “The party is all prepared to finalise names recommended by local committees,” said Raj Kumar Yadav, district Chairperson of the party.

Likewise, Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal is also intensifying its internal homework to propose poll candidates, according to RJP-N Morang chairperson Mahamad Kadir.

Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar-led Nepal Democratic Forum is also all set to propose candidates to contest the upcoming polls, as per the party’s district chairperson Bhaktinath Majhi. Kamal Thapa led Rastriya Prajatantra Party has also not proposed names yet.