Three ministers resign in Province 1, CM Rai likely to face no-confidence motion

KATHMANDU:  Three ministers of Province 1 government resigned on Sunday following the sacking of a minister on Saturday by Chief Minister Sherdhan Rai.

The Minister for Social Development Jeevan Ghimire, State Minister for Social Development Jasmaya Gajmer and State Minister for Industry, Tourism, Forests and Environment Vijay Biswas tendered their resignation today following the sacking of Minister for Economic Affairs and Planning Indra Angbo.

CM Rai sacked Angbo accussing of signing the No-Confidence motion against him. All three resigning minister and Angbo are close to Dahal-Nepal faction of the ruling NCP.

The intra-party feud of the rulling party has moved from the centre to the province level with the NCP (Dahal-Nepal) faction already filing a no-confidence motion against the Bagmati province Chief Minister Dormani Paudel.

Among the 93 lawmakers, 67 lawmakers are from NCP in the Provincial Assembly of the Province 1.

Meanwhile, it has been learnt that NCP (Dahal-Nepal) is preparing to register a no-trust motion against CM Rai in the PA.