Three NCP leaders of Province 2 reject nomination to Oli-led faction

BARA: Three provincial committee members of Nepal Communist Party (NCP) in Province 2 have rejected their nomination to the party's faction led by Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli.

Nepal Communist Party (NCP) Bara secretary Sundar Bishwakarma has rejected the post offered by PM Oli-led faction of the party. Bishwakarma, issuing a statement today, declared that he rejected the offer of the post and urged not to rely on media reports.

Bishwakarma, who held the post of provincial committee chair for NCP in Province 2 and chair for the party's district committee, was nominated by Oli-led faction yesterday.

Likewise, Kamalesh Jha and Kalyani Chaudhary, two other members of the provincial committee who were nominated by the Oli-led faction, also declared that they would not accept the membership. Chaudhary informed so by posting her declaration on her Facebook page.

The NCP provincial committee members' declaration of their rejection comes on the day after the party suffered a vertical split, with the rival factions led by the two chairpersons — KP Sharma Oli and Pushpa Kamal Dahal — claiming their faction to be the authentic NCP in separate central committee meetings held in the capital.

The Oli led-faction has also nominated Geeta Kandel, Adhyananda Pandey, and Kewal Chaudhary as the central members.

Featured Image: File (Nepal Communist Party's central office in Dhumbarahi, Kathmandu)