Tikapur murders: Case filed against 21 including Laxman Tharu, Lahuram Chaudhary

DHANGADHI: Kailali District Police Office (DPO) on Wednesday filed a murder case against 21 persons for their alleged involvement in killing of eight police personnel and a child in Tikapur of Kailali on August 24.

Those indicted include Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum-Democratic central committee member Laxman Tharu and Tharu Kalyankari Sabha president and Tharuhat/Tharuwan Struggle Committee district coordinator Lahuram Chaudhary.

Eight police personnel including SSP Laxman Neupane and a two-year-old child were killed by an angry mob in Tikapur of Kailali during a protest demonstrated by pro-Tharuhat cadres.

Police had arrested 39 persons in connection to the incident. Of them, 18 were released on general date.

DPO spokesperson DSP Bishwaraj Khadka said police are still searching for other persons involved in the incident.