Top leaders in Morang for poll campaigning

Biratnagar, June 23

As the election date draws closer, central leaders of major political parties are seen active in election campaigning in Morang.

For the Nepali Congress, securing victory in Biratnagar metropolis is a matter of prestige. About half a dozen party central leaders, including Dr Shekhar Koirala, Dr Minendra Rijal, Mahesh Acharya and Dr Dila Sangraula are in Biratnagar for a few days now.

Similarly, NC leader Bimalendra Nidhi arrived here today, and Sujata Koirala is expected to reach Biratnagar tomorrow. Earlier, leaders Arjun Narasingh KC and Dr Ram Saran Mahat had arrived here. Congress has fielded Bhim Parajuli and Indira Karki for the posts of mayor and deputy mayor in Biratnagar Metropolitan City respectively.

Amidst the massive election campaign of NC in Biratnagar, the CPN-UML is also eyeing victory in the metropolis. The party has forged an electoral alliance with the Nepal Democratic Forum by fielding its own candidate Binod Dhakal for the post of mayor and supporting NDF’s Suchi Chaudhary for the deputy mayoral post.

UML central leader Surendra Pandey, General Secretary Ishwor Pokharel and central member Lalbabu Pandit are in Biratnagar spearheading the election campaign.

UML Chair KP Sharma Oli and senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal are scheduled to arrive here tomorrow, while NDF Chair Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar is also expected to be here by tomorrow.

To consolidate its chances of winning, the CPN-Maoist Centre too has opted for an electoral alliance with the Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal in the metropolis. The party has requested its c Chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal to join the election campaign. FSF-N leader Upendra Yadav is already in Biratnagar for a week now for poll campaigning. Earlier, CPN-MC central leaders Ram Karki, Lekhnath Neupane, Hitman Shakya, Janardan Sharma also participated in election campaign here.