UCPN-M finalises work division for leaders

Kathmandu, December 22

The ongoing central committee meeting of the Unified CPN-Maoist today finalised its work division as per the new provision of the constitution.

The meeting that concluded here today has finalised seven in-charges of the party for seven Pradeshes.

Ram Karki has been selected as in-charge of Pradesh 1, Biswonath Sah for Pradesh 2, Krishna Bahadur Mahara for Pradesh 3, Dilaram Acharya for Pradesh 4, Chandra Prakash Khanal for Pradesh 5, Janardan Sharma for Pradesh 6 and Lekhraj Bhatta for Pradesh 7.

Similarly today’s meeting selected Kshetra Bahadur Shrestha as secretary of Pradesh 2, Hari Adhikary for Pradesh 4, Jag Prasad Sharma for Pradesh 5, Kali Bahadur Malla for Pradesh 6 and Khagraj Bhatta for Pradesh 7.

According to party Spokesperson Dinanath Sharma, secretaries of Pradesh 1 and 3 will be determined later by the standing committee. Leader Leelamani Pokhrel had refused to take the responsibility of secretary of Pradesh 3.

Sharma said today’s meeting concluded after endorsing the political document presented by Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal with improvements.

He said the central committee has formed a five-member Schooling Department led by Vice-chairman Narayan Kaji Shrestha and another five-member editorial team led by Chairman Dahal that includes Dinanath Sharma, Gopal Kirati and Urmila Aryal as members.

The party has decided to take action against leaders who deserted the party, besides Baburam Bhattarai, and to seek clarification from Prabhu Sah for not attending the central committee meeting.

The party has also decided to relieve politburo member Hemanta Prakash Oli from all party responsibilities even from the party’s general membership for six months for his immoral act.

The central committee also decided to hold workshops and mid-term assessment in three months, during which intensive discussions will be held on organisational principles and leadership system besides other theoretical and ideological aspects of the party.

Sharma said the central committee vowed to return the party to its previous glory within the next two years.