UML candidates win mayor and deputy-mayor in Arjundhara Municipality

JHAPA: CPN-UML candidates have been elected as the mayor and deputy mayor of Arjundhara Municipality in Jhapa district, Election Commission said.

Hari Rana clinched the mayoral post as he garnered 13,879 votes while his nearest rival Hemraj Kharel of the Nepali Congress received 9,641 votes. Rana edged Kharel by wide margin of 4,238 votes in the district.

Similarly, Kamal Acharya was elected to the deputy mayor of the Municipality as he mustered 12, 831 votes to his nearest rival Nepali Congress' Saraswoti Sitaula bagged 9, 641 votes.

Out of 11 wards of Arjundhara Municipality, the UML won the elections in ward no 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11 while NC triumphed in ward no 3, 7 and 8.