The Election Commission has given the deadline of September 7 to the representatives of CPN- UML and Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal in the provincial and local levels to choose the parties they belong to.

New parties, CPN (Unified Socialist) and Democratic Socialist Party were formed after the split of UML and JSP-N recently following the issuance of fresh ordinance related to political parties.

The new ordinance has stipulated that 20 per cent or more members of the parliamentary party and the central committee of any political party can split their mother party to form new parties.

According to EC Spokesperson Raj Kumar Shrestha, the provincial lawmakers should reach the Provincial Election Office and local representatives the District Election Office with their identity cards to choose the new party.

A version of this article appears in the print on August 30 2021, of The Himalayan Times.