Voters' turnout 70.5 pc in second phase of local polls


KATHMANDU: At least 70.5 per cent voters have cast their votes in the second phase of local level elections on Wednesday, said the Election Commission.

The elections were concluded in a fair and peaceful manner, regardless of few incidents of violence and disruption witnessed in some places, said Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhee Prasad Yadav.

The counting of votes will start as soon as the ballot boxes reach the counting centres after consultation with the political parties and candidates, he added.

Bajura has the highest number of voters' turnout with 80 per cent votes and Bhojpur has the least with 61 per cent.

The second round of civic polls was held in 334 local levels including one metropolitan city, seven sub-metropolitan cities, 111 municipalities and 215 rural municipalities of 35 districts in Province 1, 5 and 7.

A total of 6, 432, 765 voters would choose 15, 038 local representatives from 62, 408 candidates vying for different posts.

As many as 66, 900 employees were deputed at 8, 364 polling centres and 4, 581 polling locations.

The poll panel had also arranged visits of representatives of diplomatic communities to monitor voting in six major cities- Dhankuta, Biratnagar, Bhairahawa, Palpa, Dhangadhi and Dadeldhura.

At least 71 per cent voters had turned out in the first phase of local level elections held in 34 districts of Province 3, 4 and 6 on May 14.

Meanwhile, the third round of civic polls in Province number 2 has been deferred for September 18, after a mutual consent between Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba and Rastriya Janata Party Nepal.

The third phase of local polls would be held in eight districts including Parsa, Bara, Rautahat, Sarlahi, Mahottari, Dhanusha, Siraha and Saptari.