18-member women's national cricket team announced

KATHMANDU: An 18-member national women's cricket team has been announced for the games that will take place under the world cup qualification round in Hong Kong from October 9.

The National Sports Council (NSC) cited the suspension of Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) as the reason for  announcing  the fresh cricket team.

Nepal will be pitched against the host Hong Kong, China and Thailand. The team ending up at the top of the group ladder will be able to take part in the 2017 World Cup Qualifier.

The team monitored by Captain Rubina Chhetri includes Kajal Shrestha, Sita Rana Magar, Shova Ale, Saraswoti Chaudhary, Neri Thapa, Nira Raj Upadhaya, Roshani Bohara, Sabnam Rai, Laxmi Chaudhary, Sangita Rai, Indu Barma, Jyoti Pandey, Anuradha Chaudhary, Rashmi Sharma, Nirmala Shahi, Karuna Bhandari and Sarita Magar. Raju Basnet will lead the team as the Head Coach while Jagat Tamata, the Head Coach of the men's national cricket team and Binod Das will contribute their expertise in the training.

The number of players in the team was trimmed down to 24 from the earlier 48 and then to 18. However, the final team will consist of only 14 members.