Kathmandu, July 2Nepal lost third consecutive match of the Twenty20 International series against the Netherlands in Hazelaarweg, Rotterdam on Thursday.

The hosts, who opened the four-match series with a 18-run win on Tuesday before registering a thrashing 103-run victory in the second match, defeated Nepal by 18 runs to claim the four-match series 3-0. The fourth and final match is slated for Friday.

Batting first after winning the toss, the Dutchmen scored 149-6 before restricting Nepal to 131-9 in 20 overs. Skipper Paras Khadka once again top scored for Nepal with 36 runs before he was run out after hitting two fours in his 28-ball knock. Chasing a modest target, Nepal failed to make a desired start, despite coming in with a different pair of Subash Khakurel and Sagar Pun.

Pun (five) was the first to go with just 10 runs on the board, while Gyanendra Malla, who struck three fours in his 17 off 19, and Khakurel (14) fell in quick succession. Binod Bhandari (one) failed to live up to his expectations as Nepal came under pressure at 59-4 in 12 overs. Khadka and Sharad Vesawkar took Nepal past three figures with a 48-run partnership for the fifth wicket. Vesawkar struck a four and a six in his 16-ball 24, while Pradeep Airee scored nine-ball 18 that included three fours. Ahsan Malik was the pick of the Netherlands bowlers taking 4-21.

Earlier, the Netherlands’ innings revolved around solid half century from Stephan Myburgh, who struck five fours and two sixes in his unbeaten 56-ball 71. Opener Rahil Ahmed (13) and Myburgh gave the hosts a cautious start adding 37 runs in the first six overs before the former gave a return catch to Karan KC.

The Netherlands then lost Ben Cooper (eight) when Khadka had him caught by Pun, while Shakti Gauchan reduced the hosts to 74-3 after Wesley Barresi (14) was stumped by Khakurel in the 12th over. Netherlands skipper Peter Borren struck two fours and a six in his nine-ball 19, while Timm van der Gugten scored an unbeaten 12 off just five balls that included a four and a six. Myburgh and van der Gugten added 22 runs for the unbroken eighth wicket in the last 11 balls.

KC was the pick of the Nepali bowlers taking 2-24 from three overs, while Pun (1-24), Basant Regmi (1-29) and Gauchan (1-30) pocketed one apiece. Sompal Kami returned empty handed and yielded 31 runs in his four-over spell, while skipper Khadka bowled just one over and conceded nine runs.