Bastola, Rana win National Tennis titles

Lalitpur, November 21

Western Region’s Abhishek Bastola and Nepal Police Club’s Mayanka Rana won the titles of the 14th National Lawn Tennis Tournament under the NSC Championship here at the Satdobato Tennis Complex courts today.

Bastola won all seven matches of the round robin format in the eight-player contest in men’s section, while Rana also remained unbeaten in the women’s category competition that also featured seven players after Tribhuvan Army Club’s Isha Rawat pulled out due to injury.

In the final day matches, Bastola defeated Pradip Khadka of Western 6-2, 6-0 in the sixth round and returned to beat Santosh Khatri of Nepal APF Club 6-0, 6-0. Samrakshyak Bhushan Bajracharya of TAC finished second with six wins. He outplayed Kamal Bahadur Bhandari of NPC 6-4, 2-6, 7-5 and defeated another NPC player Dawa Sherpa 6-2, 6-0 today.

TAC’s Pranav Khanal came third with five victories. On the final day, Khanal beat APF players Santosh Khatri and Shreeram Magar by identical scores of 6-1, 6-1.

In other matches, Dawa Sherpa of NPC beat Shreeram Magar 7-6, 6-4 in the sixth round, while Kamal Bahadur Bhandari of NPC outplayed Pradip Khadka of Western 6-4, 6-1. Kamal Bahadur Bhandari, Shree Ram Magar, Santosh Khatri, Dawa Sherpa and Pradip Khadka finished fourth to eighth respectively.

In women’s section, Mayanka Rana beat Abhilasha Bista of TAC 6-3, 6-0 in the sixth round before seeing off Bijisha Shrestha of APF 6-3, 6-2 in the final round match. NPC’s Mahika Rana finished second with five victories. She faced a 6-4, 6-2 defeat at the hands of APF’s Anne Mathema in the sixth round and earned a walkover win from Rawat in the seventh round match.

Mathema, who finished third, lost to Abhilasha Bista of TAC 6-3, 6-2 in the final round match. Ganga Sharma of Western, TAC’s Abhilasha Bista and APF’s Bijisha Shrestha and Bhagawati BK came fourth to seventh respectively.