APF outplay NDA in final

Kathmandu, June 9

Nepal APF Club defeated Shivam New Diamond Academy in straight sets to win the title of the fourth NVA-RBB Women’s Club Volleyball Championship here at the NSC covered hall today.

APF registered a 25-14, 25-23, 25-19 victory to avenge their 3-1 defeat in group stage match. This is the third title of the season for APF, the powerhouse in women’s volleyball, who had also won the KNP National Tournament and Speaker Cup.

Champions APF received Rs 200,000, while NDA pocketed Rs 100,000. Nepal Police Club, who finished third with a straight-set victory over Tribhuvan Army Club, earned Rs 50,000. TAC got Rs 25,000.

Saraswoti Chaudhary of APF was declared the best player of the tournament and she earned Rs 25,000. Despite the loss in the final, NDA dominated the individual award claiming four out of six while APF returned empty handed. Pratibha Mali was named the best spiker, while her NDA teammates Aruna Shahi and Salina Shrestha received the best server and best defender awards. NDA’s Kumar Rai was named the best coach.

Likewise, Janaki Bhandari of TAC was adjudged the best setter, while her teammate Sofia Pun bagged the best blocker award. The individual award winners received Rs 5,000 each. A total of six teams took part in the tournament organised by Nepal Volleyball Association under the sponsorship of Rastriya Banijya Bank. NSC Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista, NVA President Manoranjan Raman Sharma, Executive Chief of RBB Kiran Kumar Shrestha and Executive Director of Nepal Satellite Telecom Asmita Sumargi gave away prizes to the winners.