Singh, Sunuwar defend squash crowns

Lalitpur, August 5

Defending champions Arahant Keshar Singh and Bhawana Sunuwar won the titles of the second Dhana Laxmi Maharjan Memorial National Squash Tournament here at the International Sports Complex today.

Singh won the men’s singles title, while Sunuwar claimed the women’s singles title of the event.

Singh saw off Amrit Thapa Magar 13-11, 12-10, 11-5 in the men’s final. Champion Singh earned Rs 18,000 and runner-up Magar claimed Rs 10,000.

In women’s final, Sunuwar beat Krishna Thapa 6-11, 11-7, 11-2, 11-7 and won the title. Sunuwar and Thapa got Rs 11,000 and Rs 6,000 respectively.

Gopal Thapa outplayed Salim Thapa Magar 11-2, 8-11, 11-3, 11-3 and won the boys’ U-15 category title.

Indra Bahadur Karki won the men’s above-55 veteran section title with a 11-7, 11-3, 11-5 win against Kishor Maharjan in the final, while Sudeep Singh saw off Prajjwal Pradhan 11-5, 11-6, 11-4 to win the masters 45-54 years category final.

Akash Sunuwar outplayed Ratna Kaji Shakya 11-13, 12-10, 11-8, 11-13, 11-5 to win the men’s singles plate championship.

Mayor of Lalitpur Metropolitan City Chiribabu Maharjan among others handed over the prizes to the winners. A total of 85 players took part in the tournament organised by Nepal Squash Rackets Association.