Sunsari, January 19

Tribhuvan Army Club defeated Nepal Police Club by 83 runs to win the title of the Manmohan Memorial Cup One Day National Cricket Tournament at the Inaruwa grounds today.

Batting first, TAC posted 249-8 in their allotted 50 overs before packing NPC to 166 runs in 42.5 overs. TAC failed to make an ideal start after winning the toss. Opener Anil Mandal (four), skipper Binod Bhandari (26), Raju Rijal (12) and Bhim Sarki (15) were dismissed cheaply as TAC came under pressure at 92-4 in 20 overs.

Rajesh Pulami then shared two crucial partnerships. He added 35 runs for the fifth wicket with Rohit Paudel (14), while Hari Chauhan (nine) also departed soon.

Pulami top scored for the team with 69 off 128 balls that included five boundaries. Bikram Sob remained unbeaten on 20 runs, while Susan Bhari scored seven not out. Dipesh Shrestha was the pick of the NPC bowlers taking three wickets, while Ram Naresh Giri claimed two and Sunil Dhamala, Yogendra Karki and Manjeet Shrestha pocketed one wicket each.

In reply, Yogendra Singh Karki scored a composed half century but did not get much support from team members. NPC were reduced to 54-6 inside 18 overs before Karki and Himamshu Dutta fought the battle with a 68-run partnership for the seventh wicket.

Karki scored 51 off 59 balls, while Dutta netted 29. Opener Amit Shrestha chipped in with 25, while Dipesh Shrestha scored 17 and Sagar Dhakal and Prem Tamang contributed 14 each.

Shahab Alam (3-23) and Kushal Malla (3-33) shared six wickets between them for TAC, while Susan Bhari claimed two. Bikram Sob and Hari Bahadur Chauhan also claimed one wicket each. Mall was named the man of the match.

Champions TAC earned Rs 401,000, while NPC got Rs 201,000. NPC’s Dilip Nath was declared the players of series and he earned Rs 51,000. TAC’s Bhim Sarki and NPC’s Sagar Dhakal were named the best batsman and bowler respectively and they got Rs 20,000 each. Saroj Basnet of Shanti Deep got the emerging player award along with Rs 10,000.