Army thrash Sankata to go atop

Lalitpur, November 26

Tribhuvan Army Club came from a goal down to thrash CMG Club Sankata 5-1 and moved to the top of the Pulsar Martyrs Memorial A Division League at the ANFA Complex grounds today.

Tek Bahadur Budhathoki scored a brace, while skipper Bharat Khawas, Santosh Tamang and Dinesh Henjan netted one each for the Armymen. Alon Maxwell scored the consolation goal for Sankata.

Maxwell put Sankata ahead with an early goal in the ninth minute of the match. After that, it was all TAC throughout the match. Budhathoki levelled the scores in the 17th minute after he cleverly put the ball into the nets at a time when Sankata goalkeeper had come forward of his area. The goal by Budhathoki was 50th in the ongoing league.

TAC skipper Khawas then gave the lead to his team with a goal in the 29th minute, while Santosh Tamang made it 3-1 in the 63rd minute when he converted the free kick into the goal. Two minutes later, Budhathoki extended the lead with his second goal of the match and Henjan completed the scoring in the 75th minute.

Both the sides also missed one each penalty kick. Santosh Tamang of TAC hit the cross bar, while Amit Tamang of Sankata failed to convert from the spot.

With the win, TAC moved to the top of the standing with 10 points from four matches, while Sankata suffered their first loss of the tournament after winning their first three games.

Three Star win

Ruslan Three Star Club defeated New Road Team 2-0 in another match. After a goalless first half, Ranjit Dhimal and Ajayi Martins Kayode scored one goal each for the defending champions, who had faced a 2-1 defeat at the hands of Signature Manang Marshyangdi Club in their previous match.

Three Star were made to wait until 75th minute to open the scoring. Dhimal found the back of the nets in rebound after his penalty shot was blocked by NRT goalkeeper Ajit Prajapati. Three Star earned the spot kick after Ashish Ban brought down Kayode inside the area at a time when NRT goalkeeper Prajapati had already been beaten.

Kayode then sealed the victory with a goal in the first minute of the injury time of the second half. Martins headed home following a pass from Bal. Three Star accumulated nine points from four matches, while NRT have one point after their third straight defeat.

NPC beat CYC

Bharat Shah and Ravi Paswan scored a goal each as Nepal Police Club beat Chyasal Youth Club 2-0.  With their second victory in the league, NPC accumulated seven points from four matches, while Chyasal have four points. NPC took the lead through Paswan’s goal in 38th minute capitalising on defensive error. Paswan collected a weak back pass from Bishwa Adhikari and chipped over advancing goalie Dinesh Thapa Magar.

NPC doubled the lead in the 89th minute, capitalising on yet another lapse from Chyasal. Shah reached to a cross-field pass from Florent Larba before slotting home to seal the victory.