Nepal | June 27, 2019

Athlete Lamgade breaks another national record

Mahesh Acharya

Athlete Chandra Kala Lamgade performs in the javelin throw event, under the eighth National Games on Friday, April 19, 2019. Photo: Udipt Singh Chhetry/THT

Nepalgunj, April 19

Chandra Kala Lamgade broke second national record on the second day of 44th National Athletics Championship under the eighth National Games in Dang today.

Lamgade, who had bettered her own mark in shot put yesterday, set the new record in javelin throw at the Beljhundi Stadium. The Nepal Police Club athlete covered the distance of 44.05 metres on her way to winning the second gold medal in the championship. She improved her own mark of 43.94 metres set during the NSC Championship in Itahari last year.

Laxmi Tharu of Tribhuvan Army Club and Sima Kumari Tharu of Nepal APF Club finished second and third respectively.

In men’s section, Rohit Chaudhary of TAC won gold medal with the distance of 56.58 metres, finishing ahead of APF’s Manoj Dagoura and NPC’s Birendra Chaudhary.

TAC won 1,500m race gold medals. Tanka Karki finished first with the timing of four minutes and 01.09 seconds, while fellow TAC athlete Umesh Magar won silver and Santosh Bista of APF claimed bronze. Olympian Saraswoti Bhattarai finished first in women’s section race. The TAC athlete took four minutes and 36 seconds to win the gold medal ahead of Santoshi Shrestha of Province-3 and Fulmati Rana of APF.

In long jump, Dilli Khatri of TAC won the men’s section gold with the jump of 6.96 metres. Bhuwan Mahato of Province-3 and Gopal Chaudhary of NPC finished second and third respectively. In women’s section, Krishna Chaudhary of TAC bagged gold with the jump of 5.21 metres, while Shila Chaudhary of APF and Jayarani Chaudhary of Province-5 came second and third respectively.


Gandaki Province, Tribhuvan Army Club, Province-1 and Nepal APF Club registered wins in the National Handball Tournament in Nepalgunj. In the men’s section matches, Gandaki defeated Farwest 43-15, while TAC thrashed Karnali Province 47-10. Likewise, Province-1 registered a 28-14 victory over Province-2 and APF recorded a 39-23 victory over Province-3.

In women’s section, Gandaki Province recorded double victories, while TAC, Farwest and APF also bagged wins. Gandaki registers a 22-4 victory over Province-5 and returned to record a 15-4 win against Province-3. In other matches, TAC hammered Karnali 4-2, Farwest registered a 7-2 victory over Province-2 and APF recorded a 28-10 win against Province-1.


Province-3 advanced to the women’s Regu section semi-finals as Group A winners in the fifth National Sepak Takraw Tournament in Gulariya, Bardiya. Province-3 registered identical 2-0 wins over Gandaki and Province-5 to finish as pool winners. Gandaki made it to the last four as group runners-up after their 2-0 victory over Province-5. In Group B match, Tribhuvan Army Club recorded a 2-0 victory over Province-1.

In men’s section, Farwest registered double victories — identical 2-1 wins against Province-3 and Province-1. Also, Province-3 registered a 2-0 victory over Province-1, while TAC recorded a 2-0 win against Province-5.


Nepal APF Club, Tribhuvan Army Club, Nepal Police Club and Province-3 won their men’s section matches of the National Volleyball Tournament in Khajura, Nepalgunj. APF registered a 25-8, 25-21, 25-22 victory over Province-5, while TAC defeated Gandaki Province 22-25, 25-18, 25-21, 25-14. Likewise, NPC outplayed Farwest 25-15, 25-19, 25-17, whereas Province-3 beat Karnali Province 25-17, 25-18, 30-28.

In women’s section, APF recorded a 25-4, 25-9, 25-10 victory over Province-1, while Province-3 registered a 25-9, 25-7, 25-13 win against Province-2. Also, NPC defeated Farwest 25-4, 25-9, 25-5, while Gandaki beat Karnali 25-11, 25-17, 25-8.


TAC and NPC won one each gold medal on the opening day of National Taekwondo Tournament in Bhairahawa. Gyanendra Hamal of TAC defeated Jeevan Tamang of Province-1 in the men’s 58kg weight category final, while Prem Bahadur Nepali of Province-5 and Umesh Rajbhandari of Nepal APF Club bagged bronze. Likewise, Nima Gurung of NPC won the women’s 53kg section gold defeating Sandhya Shahi of Province-1. Pabitra Belkuti of Gandaki and Kajal Shrestha of TAC bagged bronze medals.


A version of this article appears in print on April 20, 2019 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: