Australia pick young squad for first World Cup qualifier

SYDNEY: Coach Graham Arnold has picked 12 players with 10 or fewer international appearances in his 23-man squad for Australia's opening World Cup qualifier against Kuwait on September 10.

Scottish-born defender Harry Souttar is the only uncapped player in the squad named Friday, with Brandon Borrello, Ajdin Hrustic and goalkeeper Andrew Redmayne all with just one cap each.

Captain Mark Milligan ended doubts about his ongoing international career with the 34-year-old named in what will be his 80th appearance for the national team.

Fellow regulars Mat Ryan, Aaron Mooy, Mathew Leckie, Trent Sainsbury and Massimo Luongo are also included.

Australia's players will take part in a training camp in the United Arab Emirates in the week before the qualifying opener in Kuwait.

The Socceroos beat Kuwait 4-0 last October in a friendly.

Australia squad: Mustafa Amini, Aziz Behich, Brandon Borrello, Milos Degenek, Apostolos Giannou, Craig Goodwin, Rhyan Grant, Ajdin Hrustic, Jackson Irvine, James Jeggo, Mitchell Langerak, Mathew Leckie, Massimo Luongo, Awer Mabil, Jamie Maclaren, Mark Milligan (captain), Aaron Mooy, Andrew Redmayne, Mathew Ryan, Trent Sainsbury, Brad Smith, Harry Souttar, Adam Taggart.