Baitadi beat Nepalgunj for first win

Birgunj, October 20:

Region No 4 (Bhairahawa) and Region No 6 (Baitadi) won at their matches at the Sintez MM Twenty20 National Cricket Tournament at the Narayani Stadium today. Bhairahawa beat Kathmandu by seven wickets while Baitadi registered their first win by beating Nepalgunj by 30 runs.

Electing to bat first, Kathmandu made 86-9 in their allotted 20 overs and Bhairahawa overcame the total losing four wickets in 13.4 overs. Sagar Khadka of Bhairahawa, who took three wickets, was declared the man of the match.

Earlier in the day, Baitadi made 124-6 and restricted Nepalgung to 94 runs. Dhirendra Chand scored an unbeaten 51 for Baitadi and was declared the man of the match.

Region No 2 (Birgunj) will took to book the last and final berths for the semi-finals when they take on Baitadi on Tuesday. Region No 1 (Biratnagar), Kathmandu and Bhairahawa have already qualified for the semi-finals.