Bal Shreejanalaya, Shree Durga claim titles

Lalitpur, November 23

Bal Shreejanalaya of Kathmandu and Shree Durga School of Rautahat won the titles of the Coca-Cola Cup Inter-school Football Tournament here at the ANFA Complex grounds today.

Bal Shreejanalaya won the boys’ category title, while Shree Durga claimed girls’ section trophy.

In the boys’ final, Bal Shreejanalaya defeated Everest Academy of Sarlahi 1-0 riding on the solitary goal from Pratik Ale Magar. Magar found the back of the nets in 72nd minute to seal the victory.

In the girls’ section final, Shree Durga thrashed Bhumre Secondary School of Syangja 7-0.

Nikita Thokar scored four goals, while Rashmi Kumari Ghising netted a brace and Dil Kumari Rana Magar added one. Thokar scored her first goal in the 30th minute and netted second in the 38th minute before completing her hat-trick in 47th minute. Thokar added one more in the 55th minute.

Earlier, Rana Magar opened the scoring in the 19th minute, while Ghising scored in 35th and 52nd minutes.

Meanwhile, Seti Devi Sarda School defeated Shree Shankar Saraswoti School 3-2 in penalty shootout to finish third in girls’ section. The match was decided through spot kick battle after both the teams settled for a goalless draw.

The winners, runners-up and teams finishing third in both categories got Rs 300,000, Rs 100,000 and Rs 50,000 respectively.

Meanwhile, Everest’s Akash Shrestha received the best defender’s award while Angel Bhandari of Bhanubhakta Memorial was named the best forward. Similarly, Bal Shreejanalaya’s Suresh Lama and Anjil Lama were named the best goalkeeper and best midfielder respectively, while Amar Sherpa was declared the best coach in boys’ category.

In girls category, Bhumre’s Sabitri Kishan bagged the best goalkeeper’s award, while Shree Shankar’s Surakshya Singh was named the best defender. Seti Devi’s Priti Rai got the best midfielder’s award. Shree Durga’s Nikita Thokar was named the best forward and Noor Raj Kafle was the best coach.