Bangladesh wins 2nd T20 against Sri Lanka draws series 1-1

COLOMBO: Bangladesh beat Sri Lanka by 45 runs in their second Twenty20 to fittingly draw the series 1-1 on Thursday.

The test and one-day international series were also drawn.

Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza won the toss and elected to bat first in his final T20. His batsmen scored 176-9, a bigger score slashed by a late hat trick by fast bowler Lasith Malinga.

But it was enough, as Sri Lanka was bowled out for 131 with two overs to spare.

Chamara Kapugedara led with 50 but, for Bangladesh, Mustafizur Rahman took 4-21 and Shakib Al Hasan 3-24.

Shakib also top-scored for Bangladesh with 38, supported by openers Imrul Kayes (36) and Saumya Sarkar (34), who enjoyed a rapid start.

Kayes and Sarkar added 65 runs off 41 deliveries.

Bangladesh was 169-5 in the 19th over when Malinga bowled out Mushfiqur Rahim (15), Mortaza (0) and trapped Mehedi Hasan (0) lbw to compete his first T20 hat trick.

Kapugedera and Thisara Perera shared 58 to give the hosts a glimmer of hope. But the asking rate kept rising with disciplined bowling and fielding by Bangladesh.

Kapugedara hit a six and five boundaries for his 35-ball 50.

Shakib was named player of the match.