Pandey claims Monthly Medal

Kathmandu, December 16

Bhairaja Pandey won the 10th edition of the Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

Played under stroke play full handicap format, the 17-handicapper played a round of one-under 71 to claim the nett category title, while Tulasi Bhatta came second with the score of one-over 73. Suhrid Ghimire was third at two-over 74.

Prithvi Malla won the gross category trophy with the score of one-over 73, while Tenzin Y Lama finished first in junior section with the score of three-under 69 nett. In all, 32 golfers took part in the tournament organised by Gokarna Golf Club under the sponsorship of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd. Former President of Nepal Golf Association Pradeep Kumar Shrestha and President of Gokarna Golf Club Suhrid Ghimire handed over the prizes to the winners.

After the 10th and final Monthly Medal round, Rabindra Tiwari accumulated 340 points to finish at the top of the leaderboard in nett section. Prithvi Malla was second with 310 points, while Devendra Bajgai came third with 305. Gopal Chitrakar (200), Prabhakar Adhikari (180), Pavitra Kumar Karki (165), Bhairaja Pandey (140), Suhrid Ghimire (125), Babu Sherpa (120) and Joseph Nathan (110) finished in top 10.

In gross section, Malla strengthened his grip at the top of the table with 600 points, Wangchen Dhondup was second at 360. Gopal Chitrakar (335), Rabindra Tiwari (150) and Ang Tshering Sherpa (145) were in top five. Likewise, Sam Doublard finished at the top of the junior section standing with 575 points, while Arnav Shah was second at 485 and Mayanka Dahal in third position with 400 points.

After 10 Monthly Medal rounds, a total of 55 golfers — top 40 in nett category, 10 in gross and five in junior section — have qualified for the Club Championship finals which will be played over two rounds in January and February next year.