Bikash, Sara Devi win

KATHMANDU: Nepal Police Club shuttler Bikash Shrestha defeated defending champion Ram Singh Chaudhary of Kailali to win the men’s singles title of the sixth Krishna Mohan Memorial National Open Badminton Championships here today.

In the final, Bikash outplayed Ram Singh 21-13, 21-16 to pocket Rs 50,000 cash prize while the losing finalist earned Rs 30,000. In the women’s singles final, Sara Devi Tamang of Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) defended her title with a 21-11, 21-10 win over Pooja Shrestha of the Nepal Armed Police Force Club. It was Sara Devi’s sixth career title. Sara pocketed Rs 40,000 for her effort while Pooja got Rs 30,000.

The duo of Ratnajeet Tamang and Bibek Shrestha defeated Ram Singh Chaudhary and Navaraj Joshi 21-16, 21-18 to claim the men’s doubles championship. The winners split the cash prize of Rs 50,000 while the runners up took home Rs 30,000. In the veterans (above-45yrs) final, the pair of Surendra Singh and Hemanta Pal eased past Pawan Kumar Shrestha and Rajendra Prasad Shakya 21-19, 21-16.