Biku helps Kathmandu Vidhya Mandir win

KATHMANDU: Kathmandu Vidhya Mandir (KVM), Nepal Rastriya Nirman HS School, Shramik Shanti HS School and Pioneer Scholars Academy won their Group D matches of the Coca-Cola National Inter-school Football Tournament qualifiers today.

At the Sanogaucharan grounds, KVM beat Grasium National Academy 1-0 on a solitary goal from Biku Lama in the 19th minute.

In the other match, Nepal Rastriya Nirman outplayed Dhruba Tara School 4-1. Nirmal Rai put Nepal Rastriya Nirman ahead in the 12th minute before Shiva Nemwang scored a brace in the 23rd and 40th minutes, while Kusum Tamang made it 4-0 in the 53rd minute. Bimas Shrestha scored the consolation goal for Dhruba Tara in the 70th minute.

Likewise, Shramik Shanti came from behind to beat Bishwo Niketan 3-2 on penalties after a 1-1 draw. In the normal time, Bishwo Niketan took the lead through the 56th minute goal from Bishwo Magar, while Sushan Rai levelled the scores in the 77th minute. In the last match, Pioneer Scholars edged past Pacific Academy 2-1 in tie breaker after a 1-1 draw. Birendra Audi put Pacific ahead in the 21st minute, while Amit Shrestha scored the equaliser in the 52nd.

At Chyasal, Arunodaya, Tri-Jyoti and Bhaktapur School won their matches. Arunodaya beat Gyan Sikha School 4-3 on penalties after both the teams failed to score in the normal time.

The second match was also decided in tie breaker after Tri-Jyoti and Shangri-La International School were deadlocked at 1-1 in normal time. Niroj Timilsina scored for Trijyoti in the 31st minute and Sagar Thapa replied for Shangri-La in the 79th minute. Tri-Jyoti won 4-2 on penalties.

In the last match, Bhaktapur School defeated Nandi School 4-2. Rup Narayan Shrestha of Bhaktapur opened the scoring in the third minute, while Prashanta Karki levelled the scores in the 22nd minute. Sanjib Rajbahak put Bhaktapur ahead in the 23rd minute before Birendra Rajbahak extended the lead to 3-1 in the 35th minute. Kishan Shrestha reduced the deficit in the 70th minute.