Biratnagar, Baitadi win

Himalayan News Service

Bhairahawa, May 8:

Region No 1, Biratnagar defeated Region No 2, Birgunj by 37 runs and Region No 6, Baitadi beat Region No 3, Kathmandu by 19 runs in the day’s matches of the Under-17 National Cricket Tournament, here today.

Batting first after winning the toss, Biratnagar accumulated 173 runs losing eight wickets in 40 overs. Laxman Shrestha top-scored with 58 runs and Iraj Shrestha contributed 40.

For Birgunj, Arbind Rana claimed three wickets whereas Ajay Sharma grabbed two

and Sanjog Karna, Sushant Thapa and Aditya Keshari took one wicket each.

In reply, Birgunj failed to reach the target and were packed off for 136 runs in 36.1 overs. Man of the match Subhash Chhetri top-scored with 67 runs.

For Biratnagar, Chandan Shrestha took three wickets, Yogesh Chapagain claimed two and Nirjal Chhetri, Anish Agrawal and Pushpa Thapa pocketed one wicket apiece.

In the other match, man of the match Suraj Bhandari top-scored with 60 runs as Baitadi scored 242 runs in 40 overs. Ganesh Rajak contributed 42 runs, Naresh Budhair (29) and Ashok Chand (27) while rest of the batsmen failed to reach the double figure mark.

For Kathmandu, Sujin Adhikari claimed three wickets and Rupesh KC took two.

In reply, Kathmandu failed to overcome the target and could muster 223 runs in 38.3 overs. Suman Gautam top-scored with 49 runs.

For Baitadi, Suraj Bhandari and Navin Chand grabbed two wickets each and Sumsher Chand, Raj Kumar Khadka, Ganesh Rajak and Padam KC took one wicket each.

On Monday, Region No 2, Birgunj will take on Region No 4, Bhairahawa and Region No 1, Biratnagar will play against Region No 5, Nepalgunj.