Birta United defeat Karna Singh, win Falgunanda Gold Cup crown

Phidim, January 8

Birta United Club of Jhapa won the title of the Tuborg eighth Falgunanda Gold Cup Football Tournament here at the Phidim HS School grounds today.

Birta United defeated Karna Singh Sonam Memorial Club of Taplejung 2-1 in the extra time of the final match. After a goalless first half, the two teams scored one each goal in the latter half and the match went to extra time. Yogesh Gurung opened the scoring in the 77th minute of the match, while Rajen Dhimal of Taplejung levelled the scores before final whistle. Buddha Chemjong then scored the match-winning goal in the extra time to hand Birta United the title. Sunil Bal of Karna Singh Sonam Memorial Club was named the man-of-the-match.

Yogesh Gurung of Birta United was adjudged the player of the tournament, while his teammate Karna Limbu was the highest scorer. Also, Manoj Pradhan, Devendra Tamang and Bikesh Limbu, all from Jhapa, were named the best goalkeeper, defender and forward respectively. Nirajan Khadka of Taplejung was declared the best midfielder, while Saran Basnet of Phidim Sporting Club was named the emerging player.

With the trophy, Birta United received Rs 250,000, while Karna Singh Sonam Memorial Club earned Rs 150,000. A total of 10 teams from Nepal, India and Bhutan took part in the event organised by Phidim Sporting Club in memory of 16th National Hero Falgunanda Lingden. Former Member of Parliament Basanta Kumar Nembang handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament, which was sponsored by Gorkha Brewery.

Meanwhile, The Himalayan Times scribe Laxmi Gautam received the Prajapati Jalpadevi Nepal Memorial Sports Journalism Award which carries a purse of Rs 10,000.