The Ex-Boxing Group of Macau on Saturday honoured the four ASBC U-22 Boxing Championship medallists and coaches. Sushma Tamang created history after she won silver, while Hema Rai, Tisha Jabegu and Bijay Bata bagged bronze medals in the tournament held from January 16-27 in Thailand.

Tamang received Rs 35,000, while other three boxers got Rs 25,000 each. Coaches Deepak Maharjan and Sandeep Shrestha received Rs 10,000 each along with Nabin Tandukar, who trained Tamang in her initial days in boxing.

National Sports Council Member Secretary Tanka Lal Ghising, Nepal Boxing Association President Ram Awale and Ex-Boxing Group of Macau representative Man Bahadur Shrestha felicitated the boxers and coaches.

A version of this article appears in the print on February 12, 2023, of The Himalayan Times.