Chitwan Rhinos and Elite Dhangadi win two games in a row

KATHMANDU: Paras Khadka's Chitwan Rhinos and Dipendra Singh Aairee's Elite Dhangadhi have won two games in succession of the ongoing Namaste Pokhara Premier League T20 cricket tournament in Pokhara metropolis on Thursday.

Rhinos edged Hulas Kathmandu Royals by 13 runs while Dhangadhi beat Butwal Blasters by 20 runs today.

Gyanendra Malla's Kathmandu Royals won the toss and opted to field first and restricted Rhinos for a decent total of 149/5 in their allotted 20 overs. However, in reply, they managed to muster 136/9 and fell short by 13 runs.

Rhino's inform opening batsman Hari Shankar Sah was adjudged man of the match for his flamboyant innings of 60 runs off 49 balls studded with five fours and three towering sixes.

In other game of the day, Dhangadhi won the toss and opted to bat first and posted a challenging total of 161/4 before restricting Butwal Blasters for 141/6 to secure 20 runs victory and kept its hope alive of making it to the playoffs.

At one stage, Dhangadhi were reeling at 39/3 before the man of the match Dan Larence and skipper Airee combined for a 108 runs partnership for the fourth wicket.

Lawrence smashed 52 runs off 39 balls with three fours and two sixes while Airee remained not out on 56 runs off 39 balls including four fours and two sixes.

Blasters Chirag Suri fought a lone battle as he remained not out on 79 runs off 54 balls, studded with twelve fours and a six, but could not take his team home.

Despite making whirlwind start to the campaign Butwal Blasters have lost their last two games in trot. However, with a better run rate, Blasters still top the chart with four points from four games.

Rhinos and Kathmandu Royals have a game in hand.