Climbers Sunwar, Tamang win titles

Kathmandu, August 31

Bijay Sunwar and Panchamaya Tamang won the titles of the National Lead Championships here at the Kathmandu Climbing Sport Club today.

Sunwar finished first in men’s section with the timing of two minutes and 19:56 seconds, while Tenzing B Rai came second in 2:36.03 and Pranil Shrestha was third in 2:55.53. All three climbers performed 17 holds each. Bhim Bahadur Tamang and Meehang Limbu finished in top five.

In women’s section, Tamang won gold medal with the timing of 2:14.85, while Swastika Chaudhary came second in 2:16.41. They performed 18 holds each. Rusha Pradhan, who had 15 holds, was third in 2:56.10, while Luckme Tamang and tensing Khando Tamang finished fourth and fifth respectively.

A total of 42 climbers — 31 men and 11 women — took part in the one-day event organised by Nepal Climbing Sport Association. After the preliminary round, 16 men climbers and eight women athletes made it to the final. Top three players in both the sections received Rs 20,000, Rs 15,000 and Rs 10,000 respectively.

According to NCSA General Secretary Meghraj Paudel, the event also served as the selection tournament for the next six months and the association would send the winners to various international tournaments on priority basis.

Vice-president of National Sports Council Pitamber Timsina handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament which was organised to mark the seventh Mountain Sports Festival.