Nepal | January 23, 2019

Sankata win Simara Gold Cup

Himalayan News Service
CMG Club Sankata , Simara Gold Cup , Ruslan eighth Simara Gold Cup, Simara Stadium,

CMG Club Sankata players and officials celebrate after winning the Ruslan eighth Simara Gold Cup at the Simara Stadium on Saturday, February 11, 2017. Photo: THT

Simara, February 11
CMG Club Sankata won the title of the Ruslan eighth Simara Gold Cup here at the Simara Stadium today.

Sankata thrashed Tribhuvan Army Club 4-2 in penalty shootout after the final match ended on 1-1 draw in the regulation period of 90 minutes and extra 20 minutes. Raj Paudel, Anil Gurung, Amit Tamang and Kuldeep Karki converted their shots for Sankata, while Bishwo Adhikari was denied by TAC goalie Sunil Srivastav.

TAC’s Santosh Tamang and Hiranya Magar were able to score the goals, while Jitendra Karki and Deepak Gurung’s shots were denied by Sankata goalkeeper Binay Shrestha.

Earlier, Bal Krishna Shrestha put TAC ahead in 47th minute before Amit Tamang of Sankata levelled the tally in the 56th minute. Champions Sankata received Rs 551,000, while runners-up TAC earned Rs 251,000. Sankata’s Binaya Shrestha was named the best player of the tournament as well as the best goalkeeper, while Anil Gurung received the best striker’s award. TAC’s Bimal Pandey was the best defender, Santosh Tamang named the best midfielder and Bal Krishna Shrestha was the highest goal scorer. Sankata’s Salyan Khadgi was adjudged the best coach of the event. The individual award winners got Rs 15,000.

A version of this article appears in print on February 12, 2017 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: