Dahal, Gurung claim National Ranking Badminton titles


Prince Dahal of Silk Group and Jessica Gurung of Nepal APF Club won the titles of the Yonex Sunrise 10th Pushpalal Memorial National Ranking Badminton Tournament here at the Golbazaar covered hall today.

Dahal outplayed APF shuttler Dipesh Dhami 21- 18, 21-13 in the men’s singles final of the event for the top 16 players. The World No 3 player in WBF junior ranking, Dahal had defeated top seeded Ratnajit Tamang in semi-final match.

In women’s section event for the top 12 players, Gurung came from behind to defeat national champion Tribhuvan Army Club shuttler Rashila Maharjan 18-21, 21-15, 22-20 to win the second title of the event. Gurung had earlier won the title of the seventh edition of the tournament held in Itahari.

Devraj Rana of Kailali won the men’s singles title of the event for the shuttlers outside the top 16 with a 15-21, 21-18, 21-16 victory over TAC’s Diwas Shankar, while Prarthana Deuba of Kailali bagged the title in women’s section defeating Jhapa’s Anjana Rai 21-9, 21-13.

TAC shuttlers bagged both the doubles titles. Ratnajit Tamang and Nabin Shrestha beat fellow TAC teammates Suroj Maharjan and Pabin Linthep 21-9, 19-21, 21-13 in men’s final, while Rashila Maharjan and Amita Giri defeated APF’s Jessica Gurung and Sunaina Mukhiya 21-18, 21-12 in women’s section final.

Bhoj Bahadur Gurung of TAC won the boys’ singles title with a 21-15, 19-21, 21-10 victory over his teammate Ayushman Nagari, while Rashila Maharjan of TAC beat Birat Badminton Circle’s Rose Pandey 21-10, 21- 10 in girls’ singles final.

Subash Shrestha of Chitwan and Anil Kumar Lakhe of Banke claimed the veteran doubles title beating Kaski’s Shovakar Bhandari and Nabin Parajuli 21-12, 21-19. A total of 350 players took part in the tournament organised jointly by Golbazaar Municipality and National Badminton Association.

Golbazaar Municipality Mayor Devnath Shah, deputy Mayor Resham Kumari Thapa, National Sports Council Member Subash Shrestha and Nepal Badminton Association President Ramji Bahadur Shrestha among others handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament.