Bajgai wins Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal

Kathmandu, September 9

Devendra Bajgai won the title of the seventh edition of Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

Bajgai claimed the trophy on count back after he was tied on four-under 68 with Jigmay Dongtsetsang. The 20-handicap amateur golfer Bajgai played one-under 35 on the back nine, while Dongtsetsang – who played with 10 handicap allowance – carded even-par 36.

Prabhakar Adhikari finished third, also on count back, after he was tied on Ang Dendi Sherpa on two-under 70. The 20-handicap golfer Adhikari carded five-under 31, whereas 14-handicapper Sherpa shot one-under 35. Wangchen Dhondup claimed the gross section trophy with the score of four-over 76, while Arnav Shah won the junior section title with the score of even-par 72.

A total of 43 players participated in the tournament organised by Gokarna Golf Club under the sponsorship of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd. Gokarna Golf Club Captain Joseph Nathan handed over the prizes to the winners of the event which was played under stroke play full handicap format.

After the completion of the seventh edition, Bajgai leads the nett section table with 280 points, while Rabindra Tiwari is second with 240 points. Prabhakar Adhikari is third with 180 points, whereas Prithivi Malla and Pavitra Karki share the fourth position with 150 points.

In gross category, Prithivi Malla is at the top of the leaderboard with 400 points. Gopal Chitrakar is second with 225 points. Wangchen Dhondup is third with 200 points, followed by Babu Sherpa (120) and Ang Tshiring Sherpa (110). Likewise, Arnav Shah leads the junior section table with 445 points, while Sam Doublard (415 points) is second and Ang Phurba Sherpa third with 245 points.

A total of 10 monthly medal rounds will be played until December with top 40 players in nett section and top 10 in gross category along with five junior golfers making it to the Club Championship finals. The finals will be played over two rounds in January and February next year.