Dhami, Mahoor win

Kathmandu, July 28

Nepal APF Club shuttler Dipesh Dhami and Shahzad Mahoor of Pakistan won the singles titles of the Annapurna Corporate International Badminton here at the National Sports Council covered hall today.

Dhami defeated Prince Dahal of Silk Group 21-11, 21-10 in the men’s singles final. Rukesh Maharjan of Tribhuvan Army Club and Md Salman Khan of Bangladesh finished joint third. In women’s singles final, Mahoor outplayed Rasila Maharjan of TAC 21-15, 21-10, while TAC duo Nangshal Tamang and Amita Giri finished joint third.

TAC shuttler Rasila Maharjan won the girls’ singles title with a 21-19, 21-19 victory over Nepal Police Club’s Jessica Gurung, while Prince Dahal of Silk beat TAC’s Praful Maharjan 21-15, 21-19 in the boys’ singles final. Neeta Lamsal of Province1 and Ranjana Bhatta of Kanchanpur were third in girls’ category, while Pabin Lingthep and Rukesh Maharjan of TAC finished joint third in boys’ section.

Indian twin brothers Ranajan and Anajan Buragohain defeated APF shuttlers Dipesh Dhami and Bijeet Thapa Magar 21-19, 21-16 in men’s doubles final, while Dhami teamed up with Pooja Shrestha to win the mixed doubles title with a 22-20, 21-17 victory over TAC duo Nanghal Tamang and Praful Maharjan.

Other winners of the tournament included Zest Badminton Academy’s Sunil Joshi (men’s executive singles), Bikash Maharjan of Mahalaxmi Paint (men’s corporate singles), Ram Rai and Viman Shrestha of Asirwad Travels (men’s executive doubles),and Bikash Maharjan and Pradip Maharjan of Mahalaxmi Paint (men’s corporate doubles).

National Sports Council Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista among others handed over the prizes to the winners of the six-day tournament.