Himalayan News Service

Kavrepalanchowk, May 29

Dhulikhel Football Club won the Madan-Ashrit Memorial Cup Invitational Open Football Tournament beating United Youth Club of Banepa 7-0.

In the day’s final match held at the Dhulikhel playground, Anil Ganeju opened the net for Dhulikhel Club in the seventh minute, while Chandra Man Tamang of United Club scored a suicide goal.

Ramesh Sinkeman netted team’s third goal in the 20th minute, while Ram Chandra Thapa scored found the net in 33rd minutes. The first half ended with Dhulikhel Club leading 4-0.

There was no respite for United in the second half too. Sukra Man Tamang scored in the 20th minute of the second half, while Anjan Makaju netted team’s sixth goal after five minutes. Anil Ganeju found the net in the last minute of the play to complete the victory.

Roshan Shrestha of United Youth Club and Sagar Thapa of Dhulikhel Club were adjudged the highest scorer and best player respectively.

Vidya Devi Bhandari, central president of All Nepal Women’s Organisation gave away prizes to the winners at a function organised under the chairmanship of Raghubar Chau Pradhan.