Either NPC or NRT set for AFC Prez Cup

KATHMANDU: The first leg leaders of the Martyrs Memorial San Miguel A Division League Football will play the AFC President’s Cup qualifiers.

Nepali club has been drawn in Group A of the qualifiers slated for May 12-16 in Dhaka along with Yoedy of Chinese Taipei, Abahani Limited of Bangladesh and Dordoi Bishkek of Kyrgyzstan.

Tuesday’s meeting of the All Nepall Football Association (ANFA) and the A Division Clubs agreed to field the first leg winners at the AFC Presidents Cup meaning either defending champions Nepal Police Club (NPC) or New Road Team (NRT) will participate in the event.

The first-leg leaders will be decided after the last round matches on Thursday. NRT have 23 points, one more than the NPC. “Since the final day registration for the AFC President’s Cup is on April 6, we decided to send the first leg leaders for the event,” said ANFA CEO Indra Man Tuladhar. The league champions of this year will be playing the 2011 AFC President’s Cup qualifiers, Tuladhar said.