EPL: Patriots, Kathmandu Kings register victories

KATHMANDU: Lalitpur Patriots and Kathmandu Kings XI secured victories during their Everest Premier League T20 Cricket tournament at the TU Cricket Stadium in Kathmandu, on Monday.

Patriots defeated Pokhara Rhinos by eight wickets and 25 balls to spare and Kings XI beat Chitwan Tigers by six wickets and seven balls remaining.

Pokhara Rhinos won the toss and opted to bat first before posting a decent total 166/4. However, Lalitpur Patriots cantered to a comprehensive victory to secure the second victory of the tournament.

Rhinos foreign recruit South African batsman Richard Levi hit a flamboyant 84 runs in just 39 deliveries including three hit to the fence and nine towering sixes. Middle-order batsman Binod Bhandari contributed 34 valuable runs in the losing cause.

Pawan Sarraf scaled three Rhinos wicket.

In reply, Patriots opening batsmen, Gaurav Tomar and Jaykishan Kolsawala shared 129 runs for the opening stand before the latter was caught by veteran Shakti Gauchan off Susan Bhari bowling in the 13th over.

Kolsawala made a measured 51 runs in 38 balls with four fours and three sixes.

Tomar struck 82 runs in just 41 balls including four fours and eight sixes to set the tone for the team. Sunny Patel finished the innings in style with a vintage six over long on region.

Paul Coughlin and Susan Bhari chipped in with a wicket each. Later, Gaurav Tomar was adjudged man of the match for his blistering innings.

In another game of the day, after winning the toss Kings XI invited Tigers to bat first before restricting them to a formidable score of 160 all out.

Dipendra Singh Airee top scored with 45 runs off 40 balls and skipper Prithu Baskota made run-a-ball 20 balls. Pardeep Sahu and Samshad Sheikh tormented Tigers batting as claimed three wickets each.

In reply, Kings, Subramanian Anand played an unbeaten innings of 43 runs off just 18 balls with four and four sixes and Amar Routela stroked a gorgeous cover drive to the fence to write off the innings in style. Sagar Pun contributed 39 runs off 34 balls in the winning note.

Shahab Alam claimed two wickets. Later, Subramanian Anand won the man of the match award.