EPL gets approval from ICC

Kathmandu, December 14

The International Cricket Council today gave its approval to the TVS Everest Premier League, a premier Twenty20 cricket tournament slated for December 18-20 at the Tribhuvan University.

The world governing body had earlier stated that EPL was a disapproved event and that no player from the member nations was allowed to take part in the tournament. But the ICC’s latest information came as a relief for the organisers and the participating six franchise-based teams along with sponsors, who have already poured in huge amount of money in the tournament.

“It is with great pleasure that we announce that the ICC has sanctioned the Everest Premier League,” said EPL Pvt Ltd Managing Director Aamir Akhtar in a release. “National and foreign players will now be allowed by the ICC to feature in the tournament and it has also updated all the member nations about EPL’s approval,” he added.

As per the new ICC regulations, the organisers need to take ICC’s approval for domestic tournaments in countries where the cricket board is under suspension. “EPL therefore had to fulfill the ICC requirements.” Akhtar said he received a mail from Clive Hitchcock, Senior Cricket Operations Manager for ICC Thursday evening and the EPL needed to pay $20,000 to the global body. “EPL will have to pay a sanctioning fee of $20,000 to ICC that will be used towards the development of cricket in Nepal,” Akhtar added.

According to Akhtar, the ICC was satisfied with the details he sent to get the approval. “Apart from studying our documents, the ICC also asked the stakeholders in Nepal before sanctioning the event,” he said. The ICC, which had on December 5 wrote to Akhtar to furnish the details of the tournament, also asked the members of the Nepal Advisory Group about the event.

A total of six city-based teams — Kathmandu Kings XI, Lalitpur Patriots, Biratnagar Warriors, Bhairahawa Gladiators, Pokhara Rhinos and Chitwan Tigers — will take part in the event organised by EPL Pvt Ltd under the sponsorship of Jagadamba Motors Pvt Ltd. The winners will be richer by Rs 2.1 million.