Nepal | April 22, 2019

FC stun champions MMC; NRT, BBC share spoils

THT Online

MMC officials and players celebrate after winning the league at ANFA Complex Ground in Lalitpur today. Courtesy: ANFA/facebook

KATHMANDU: NIBL Friends Club stunned champions Signature Manang Marsyandi Club (MMC) 1-0 and ended their winning streak in the last game of the 42nd-edition of Pulsar Martyr’s Memorial ‘A’ Division League in Katmandu today.

FC’s Bikash Lama scored a solitary header in the deep stoppage time of the second half to inflict MMC’s first defeat of the campaign at the ANFA Complex Ground in Lalitpur.

After the match, MMC’s players, officials were awarded certificates medals each, along with a trophy and a cash purse of Rs 5 million.

Later, FC’s Ashim Bhusal was awarded man of the match.

In another game between the bottom teams, New Road Team and Brigade Boys Club (BBC) played a 0-0 stalemate at Nepal’s APF Halchowk Ground today. The result did not have any impact on the results as the league do not have a provision of relegation.

BBC’s Randip Paudel won the man of the match award and collected a cash purse of Rs 10,000.

Meanwhile, MMC have lifted the national league for a record 8th time in their history.

With the conclusion of the league, ANFA awarded individual accolades to various players for their brilliant showing in the tournament.

Champions MMC’s Heman Gurung, Bishal Shrestha, Suman Shrestha were awarded best mid-fielder, goalkeeper and coach respectively. Three Star Club’s Ranjit Dhimal was declared best defender and Tribhuvan Army Club’s skipper Bharat Khawas bagged best forward of the league.

Likewise, Bikash Khawas won the title of ‘Emerging Youth Player’ of the campaign.


Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: