Flurry of heavy prizes for winners

Kathmandu, February 21:

This year’s national league saw flurry of heavy prize awards with the champions MMC getting Rs one million followed by Rs 700,000 to runner-up (Three Star) and Rs 500,000 to second runner-up (Tribhuvan Army Club). Crown Prince Paras presented the prizes to the winners. Crown Princess Himani was also present on the occasion.

Mahendra Police Club, Gyanendra APF Officers’ Club, New Road Team, who finished 4th, 5th and 6th, received Rs 300,000, Rs 200,000 and Rs 100,000 respectively. Ranipokhari Corner Team and Sankata, who finished 7th and 8th, earned Rs 50,000 each. APF also won the fair play award of Rs 50,000.

Ramesh Budhathoki and Ritesh Thapa of MPC were declared the best forward and goalkeeper respectively while Sagar Thapa and Chhiring Lopsang Gurung of MMC were adjudged the best defender and coach respectively. Vishan Gauchan of Nabil Three Star was honoured with the best midfielder award. All the five best individuals received a Yamaha G-5 motorcycle each — sponsored by Yamaha Motors India Pvt Ltd. Three Star Club goalkeeper and skipper Upendra Man Singh was declared the best player of the league and won a Toyota Yaris car worth Rs 2.35 million.