Ghale clinches golf title

Kathmandu, July 25

Jamling Ghale won the fifth edition of the Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

Ghale finished first on count back after he was tied with Kishan Agrawal at two-under 70 in nett category. Jigme Dongstesang came third with the score of even-par 72.

Prithivi Malla won the gross section trophy, also on count back after he wa

s tied on with Wangchen Dhondup. Shreeyog Basnyat claimed the junior category title with the score of five-under 67. In all, 47 players took part in the tournament sponsored by Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd. Veteran golfer Lt Gen KNS Thapa handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament played under stroke play full handicap format.

A total of 10 monthly medal rounds will be played until December, with top 30 in nett, 10 in gross and five in junior section making it to the finals, which will be played over two rounds in January and February next year.

After the fifth edition, Sanjay Poudel is at the top of the nett standings with 126 points, while Jabbor Kayumov is second with 116. Jie Tang (112), Brian Fawcett (110) and Jamling Ghale (100) are in top five, followed by SSP Rajendra Shrestha (72), Pavitra Karki (70), Bijay Bahadur Shrestha (60), Ajaya Bikram Shah (60) and Kishan Agrawal (60).

In gross section, Tendi Sherpa leads the table with 190 points, while SSP Rajendra Shrestha is second on 140. Brian Fawcett, Vijay Einhaus and Prithivi Malla are tied for third on 100 points. Likewise, Sam Doublard leads the junior category standings with 200 points, whereas Mayank Dahal is second on 160, followed by Aditi Ghimire (140), Shreeyog Basnyat (100), Arnav Shah (60) and Zenish Mahaseth (60).