Gladiators gallop, Patriots edge Tigers

Kathmandu, December 9

Ravi Inder Singh scored the maiden century as Bhairahawa Gladiators defeated Pokhara Rhinos by four wickets, while Lalitpur Patriots edged past Chitwan Tigers by 11 runs in the second day matches of the TVS Everest Premier League at the TU Stadium today.

Batting first, Rhinos posted 215-5 in 20 overs before Gladiators rode on Singh’s whirlwind knock to reach the target for the loss of six wickets with two balls to spare. Rhinos’ total was the first 200-plus score in EPL but that was not enough for them.

Singh clobbered eight boundaries and 10 sixes in his unbeaten 125 off just 60 balls. He shared the 111-run partnership from 43 balls with Aarif Sheikh for the fifth wicket to take the match away from Rhinos, who had reduced Gladiators to 71-4 inside nine overs. Sheikh scored 23 off 12 balls hitting two sixes.

Singh also added 45 runs off just 24 balls for the unbroken seventh wicket with fellow Indian Puneet Mehra, who hit two sixes in his nine-ball 18. Ryan ten Doeschate could score 11-ball 16 with the help of two fours and a six, while opener Pradeep Airee, who began the innings with a six, contributed 11-ball 14.

Susan Bhari, Bikram Sob and Englishman Paul Coughlin took two wickets each for Rhinos but all of them conceded more than nine runs per over.

Earlier, Rhinos made a flying start with openers Richard Levi and skipper Kyle Coetzer putting in 104 runs in 8.2 overs before the former departed for 79 off just 36 balls that included seven each fours and sixes.

Coetzer struck four fours and two sixes in his 37-ball 47, while Sunil Dhamala scored 38 off 23 balls with the help of a four and two sixes. Coetzer and Dhamala added 72 runs for the second wicket. Coughlin remained unbeaten on 10-ball 20 that included one each four and six.

Avinash Bohara, Krishna Karki, Puneet Mehra and Ryan ten Doeschate took one wicket each for Gladiators.

In the day’s first match, Patriots posted 143-5 in 20 overs before restricting Tigers to 132-8. Sonu Tamang top scored for Patriots with an unbeaten 35 off just 24 balls hitting one four and three sixes, while Gaurav Tomar struck two each fours and sixes in his 29-ball 30. Sandeep Jhora remained unbeaten on 25 off just eight balls hitting a boundary and three sixes, while opener Jaykishan Kolsawala hit one each four and six in his 30-ball 20.

George Scott took 2-24 for Tigers, while Lalit Singh Bhandari, Kamal Singh Airee and Paul Stirling claimed one wicket each.

In reply, Dipendra Singh Airee scored 41 off 45 balls hitting three fours and a six, while skipper Prithu Baskota struck a four and two sixes in his 29-ball 26. Bhim Sarki (21), Scott (18) and John Simpson (13) scored in double figures but failed to convert them into big knocks. Sandeep Lamichhane, playing his last match before leaving for Australia to play for Melbourne Stars in the Big Bash League, was the pick of the Patriots bowlers taking 3-26, while Sunny Patel took 2-17.